Daddyhood in the Workplace

This morning I watched a segment on the work-life balance that fathers face in today’s job market. Being married to someone in the construction management industry, I know the challenges firsthand. My husband has to juggle fatherhood along with long hours, stressful deadlines, and a constant feeling of needing to do more. There are days when he leaves the house at 5:30am and doesn’t get home until 10pm.

I feel awful when Jason doesn’t get to see Lo before she goes to bed. As hard as it is for him to miss out on the little things now, I imagine it will only get more difficult as she grows up, and he has to miss sports games, recitals, and funny everyday moments.

It’s also tough on me as a mom to get no relief throughout the day. I too struggle with finding the balance between working from home, getting things done around the house, and making sure my little one is being stimulated enough throughout the day. And let’s be honest… sometimes I just want a break.

Unfortunately, the value of parenting has been slighted by workaholic standards in today’s economy. While this isn’t true for everyone, it is true for too many of us.

Luckily, I have a husband who acknowledges this and is trying his best to rectify the situation in whatever ways he can. Every Saturday he gets one-on-one time with Lo while I work on my freelance projects, and every so often he’ll take a vacation day just so we can have more time together as a family.

It’s not that I think that parents should receive special treatment in the workplace. I just wish in general that corporations respected the work-life balance of their employees. If someone chooses to be married to their job because that’s what makes them happy that’s one thing, but it shouldn’t be the expectation for the rest of us.

End rant. Now watch the clip above and let me know what you think.

2 thoughts on “Daddyhood in the Workplace

  1. I read an article earlier today on this same topic! They talked about how working dads (in most cases) have the option to disclose their fatherhood and make it an “issue” in the workplace while women don’t. I know that’s not true across-the-board but I think in most cases it’s mom who takes time for sick kids, “shows” when pregnant, and takes an extended maternity leave. Dads can weigh in on the culture of their workplace to decide if it is safe to talk about family or not. Women can try to maintain their professionalism and not talk about family at work, but the day still comes when they have to call in because somebody’s sick and they need to care for them. I thought it was an interesting perspective. Some folks on the comments were just so angry – “when dad takes off for family it creates more work for the rest of us.” I’ll say the same thing about working dads as I do about working moms. We don’t want a pass or an excuse to get out of work. We just want to be trusted to do the job we’ve been given in a little bit of a flexible or non-traditional manner so we can have good balance and see our families. Not less work so others have to shoulder the burden, just a different approach. Good post.

Leave a Reply

