Locks of Love

Locks of LoveWhen my sister Delanah sent me this picture after spending 3+ hours adding length to my niece Essie’s hair via the “yarn twists” method I almost started crying.

You see Essie of course has different hair then the rest of our family. She constantly wants to play with my hair and tells me how pretty it is. Sometimes she even tries to whip her head around as if she has long flowing locks.

Essie of course also has a different skin color than the rest of our family. Since she was adopted from Uganda there are no newborn photos of her, but sometimes she points to pictures of little white babies and asks “Me?”.

Essie of course was brought into this world by another woman than the rest of her siblings. She knows she didn’t grow in my sister’s belly like her brothers Finn and Huxley did. Instead Delanah had to explain to Essie that she grew in all of our hearts. Essie is very proud of this, and now she likes to tell me that baby Lo grew in her heart.

So why did I almost start crying when my sister sent me this picture? Because a part of me knows my sister just wanted to give Essie those long flowing locks that she always admires… even if it took 3+ hours and it’s only temporary. That’s the kind of love that doesn’t depend on whether you share the same genetic code, and it’s just a small example of what my sister would do to make her daughter smile.

Essie will always be a little different, and that’s a good thing. She wins over everyone she meets with her gorgeous smile. She makes us all laugh with her animated expressions and hilarious ramblings. She can make any outfit look good with that beautiful black skin, and she’ll melt your heart with those puppy dog eyes.

Every little sweet hug and whisper of “I love you” from Essie feels like a gift straight from God because that’s truly what she is.

One thought on “Locks of Love

Leave a Reply

