Breast Friends

Jan BWPrior to becoming a mommy I had no clue how much work breastfeeding would be. The pain, the time, the leaking, the engorgement. By the second day in I was already bleeding and in so much pain each time I nursed that I shivered in pain. It was difficult to bond with my baby knowing that every couple hours she was about suck the life out of me. By day four I gave up and switched to pumping so I could feed Lo my breast milk via bottle.

Giving my boobs a break from my little mother sucker was the best decision I could have made at that point. I was able to once again enjoy my precious baby and it gave my nipples ample time to recoup. Another huge benefit was that it meant someone else besides me could feed Lo so I wasn’t chained down to her feeding schedule (plus daddy got to bond with her more).

Though some women enjoy breastfeeding, for the rest of us it can be a daunting task (especially in the beginning). With the help of a lactation consultant I regained the charisma to nurse again, but I couldn’t have done it without the aid of some essential products…

Dr. Brown’s Disposable Breast Pads

In the first few weeks I was leaking like Niagara Falls! These disposable nursing pads are way thinner than any others I tried and absorbed the excess milk like a champ. They contour naturally to your bra so there’s no strange looking bulkiness.

Lansinoh Soothies Gel Pads

These disposable gel pads soothe and heal sore, cracked nipples. My lactation consultant had me use these pads in conjunction with nipple cream, and I was completely healed within days.

Medela Easy Expression Hands-Free Bustier

If you’re using a double breast pump this bustier will come in really handy. It allows you to strap in and free up your hands while pumping. Perfect for the multitasking mama!

Medela Nipple Shield

Some women use nipple shields for inverted nipples or latch difficulties. In my case I just needed an extra barrier for my sore nips. This product has been a life-saver and I continue to use it to keep my boobs in good shape.

Medela Tender Care Lanolin Nipple Cream

I tried nipple creams from a variety of brands including Medela, Lansinoh, and  Mustela. Each did the trick, but this was the one recommended by my lactation pro. The secret to success is to put this on after you breastfeed, and combine with the gel pads above for best results.

One thought on “Breast Friends

  1. Pingback: What’s up at Five Months? | The Unedited Mama

Leave a Reply

