Babymoon Checklist

Babymoon ChecklistTraveling when you’re pregnant can be a bit tricky and trying to gauge what all you need to pack brings it to a whole new level. Having just returned from a babymoon myself, I would know. Here is my comprehensive babymoon checklist for packing and relaxing!

Planning Ahead:

  • A List of Unsafe Foods

Travel often includes trying new dishes, but when you’re pregnant, it’s important to know what you can and can’t eat. Your physician can provide you with a list, or you can refer to the APA’s Food to Avoid During Pregnancy (which I pulled up several times on my smartphone throughout our trip).

Because we were going to Mexico my physician recommended I avoid the fruit and veggies (bummer!) although I have to admit I cheated a little. Make sure to double check with your doctor if traveling internationally.

  • Medical Records and Doctor’s Note

In case of medical emergency, my doctor gave me a copy of my medical records. She also gave me a permission note for flying (even though most airlines don’t require one until closer to your due date).

  • Know Where the Nearest Hospital is

Chances are this is information you won’t need to use, but just in case, it’s good to have the phone number of the hospital closest to where you are staying and to have an idea of how far or near it is. If you’re staying at a hotel, the front desk can help you out with this.

  • Hemorrhoid Essentials

Thank God I didn’t have to use them, but after hearing horror stories of women who got hemorrhoids from long periods of sitting, I figured I should come prepared for my 4 ½ hour flight. In addition to over-the-counter meds, I packed a neck pillow that could double as doughnut to sit on… just in case.

  • Fiber Supplements

Sorry for all the potty talk but pregnancy, especially in the latter stages, can really do a number on your digestive system. When you compound that with the constant dining out during vacation, it doubles your chances of constipation. I packed fiber supplements to help keep me regular through and through. Worked like a charm.

  • Don’t Forget Your Prenatals

It isn’t the end of the world if you forget your prenatal pills, but save yourself the worry and make sure to add them to your packing list ahead of time.

  • Waxed Legs

Since I’m in my third trimester of pregnancy, bending over to shave my legs is no easy task. Knowing that I’d be in a bikini for half my trip, I waxed my legs the day before we left and didn’t have to shave once while we were there. Life saver!

Other Babymoon Essentials:

  • Cover Ups

Although I’m pretty proud of my baby bump, I wanted to have some swimsuit cover ups on hand for strolling around on the beach. If you are feeling self-conscious about your body, this will help ease your anxieties. Pack a few so you can rotate day to day.

  • Supportive Shoes

When you’re pregnant, footwear isn’t something to mess around with, and this becomes especially true on vacation when you plan to do quite a bit of walking.  I ditched my espadrilles for these comfy Reef wedge sandals, and upgraded myself to more supportive “yoga mat” flip flops. Don’t forget your tennis shoes, and pack some Band-Aids in case you get blisters too.

  • Hand Sanitizer

During pregnancy your immune system is running half as efficiently as it normally does meaning you’re that much susceptible to getting sick, and we all know what a petri dish airplanes are for germs. Keep hand sanitizer in your purse, and be extra good about washing your hands before meals.

  • Sunscreen

Skin becomes more sensitive during pregnancy and even more susceptible to the sun. Make sure to pack a SPF 30 or higher. (FYI: Physical sunscreen actives such as titanium dioxide and zinc oxide are particularly gentle on sensitive skin, though they can leave a slight white cast.)

  • Bottled Water

If you’re traveling somewhere where the water can be sketchy, ask your driver to take you to the closest supermarket to pick up a case of bottled water before arriving at your hotel. Being pregnant in high heat, it’s even more crucial to stay hydrated.

Leave a Reply

