What to Wear When You’re Expecting

Maternity clothes can be unjustifiably expensive. I mean seriously, do they take that much extra material to make? And c’mon, you only wear maternity clothes for a brief stretch of time anyway.

Maternity MaxiThankfully, flaunting a pregnant pooch has never been more in style which means you can get away with wearing quite a bit of your regular wardrobe and avoid buying maternity wear for multiple seasons.

My go-to piece this Spring/Summer was a blue maxi skirt I already had in my closet. The stretchy material was super comfortable, and when paired with a form-fitting tank it showed off my bump in the perfect way.

SundressSundresses were another warm-weather maternity staple of mine (and luckily I already owned several). An empire waist is particularly flattering on the pregnant form, accentuating the boobies and flowing free over the tummy.

Maternity ShirtI also love this basic striped tee I snagged for $5 at Ross. It’s long, lean, and can be worn post-baby too! In my opinion form-fitting tops do the pregnant body more justice than loose ones.  And if you’re normally flat chested take advantage of this time to show off the new ta tas with scoop neck or deep V.

Maternity SwimwearAnd as far as swimwear goes, I’m pro bikini all the way!

But now that fall is in full swing and I’m 27 weeks along, I’ve decided it’s finally time to buy some “maternity” clothes to get me through the cold weather. I’m not a big fan of shops like Motherhood Maternity and A Pea in the Pod because they tend to be too mom jeans-ish for me.

Alternatively, I like to hunt for bargains on sites like zulily or the maternity sections of Asos and Topshop. Target is another good option for the budget-conscious or… ahem… how about Forever 21 (just in a larger size)?

Topping my shopping list for Fall/Winter maternity essentials are cardigans (which don’t necessarily have to be “maternity”), black skinny pants (again not necessarily maternity; just stretchy and comfy), sweater dresses and long-sleeved tops.

Body Con Maternity TeeHere is a cute top I just bought from Pink Blush Maternity which is another great site for affordable, trendy maternity wear. The black jeggings are non-maternity (from Nordstrom).

And check out these threads I scored from Value Village for $7! Neither are technically “maternity” but they fit great!Thrift Shop Maternity Score Consignment Maternity

For jeans, a friend tipped me off to Free People’s “Pull On” jeans which aren’t maternity but have a stretchy waistband (pictured with the striped tee above). I may even be able to wear them post-pregnancy (although I have a sneaking suspicion I’ll probably stretch them beyond the point of return by month nine).

For more inspiration Check out my Bumplicious Fashion board on Pinterest. Happy shopping!

One thought on “What to Wear When You’re Expecting

  1. Pingback: Little Lamplight Photography | Maternity Pose Ideas from Pinterest

Leave a Reply

